by Jackson Pearce
Release date: August 19, 2011
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy, young adult

As a child, Gretchen's twin sister was taken by a witch-like monster in the woods. Ever since, Gretchen and her brother, Ansel, have felt the long branches of the witch's forest threatening to make them disappear, too.

When their stepmother casts Gretchen and Ansel out as teens, they stumble upon a sleepy Southern town and are invited to stay with Sophia Kelly at her sweet shop. Sophia molds candied magic: coveted treats that create confidence, bravery, and passion.

Life seems idyllic and Gretchen and Ansel finally start to forget their haunted past – until Gretchen meets handsome local outcast Samuel, who gives Gretchen a reason to fear Sophia: girls have been vanishing at Sophia's annual chocolate festival, taken by the insatiable 'witch' of Gretchen's nightmares. Can Gretchen save herself, the girls of Live Oak, and Sophia?

Of one thing, Gretchen is certain: a monster is coming, and it will never go away hungry.

updated 2011-08-19

Other books you might like

Dagger and Coin (Sword and Verse, #2)When Darkness Whispers (Ashes of Eden, #1)Wandmaker (Wandmaker, #1)Lost Stars (Warriors: The Broken Code, #1)The Brown House (The Visitor's Series, #1)
Online 59 visitors
Newest member: MoonHowler
Total members: 5906