Deep Navigation

Alastair Reynolds
science fiction, short stories
Deep Navigation - Alastair Reynolds

Deep Navigation is the 2010 Boskone Book by Boskone’s Guest of Honor Alastair Reynolds. It contains a broad spectrum of his work, from his first published story, "Nunivak Snowflakes," through "The Receivers" and "Monkey Suit," both published within the last year, plus an introduction by his friend, and former Boskone Guest, Stephen Baxter. It is well-known that the scope of Dr. Reynolds' stories is vast; his Revelation Space stories alone attest to that. This collection shows his impressive range, from the claustrophobic Antarctic station, "Byrd Land Six," to the branespanning "Tiger, Burning," to the millennia-long quest of "Fury." His viewpoints are as varied as his constant production of big, new ideas. A lone artist calmly painting the universe. A planetary ecological struggle reduced to a game. A fleeing assassin drawn into an alien rescue between the stars. The full-color dust jacket is by John Picacio, the Boskone 47 Official Artist.


  • Introduction by Stephen Baxter
  • Nunivak Snowflakes
  • Monkey Suit
  • The Fixation
  • Feeling Rejected
  • Fury
  • Stroboscopic
  • The Receivers
  • Byrd Land Six
  • The Star Surgeon's Apprentice
  • On the Oodnadatta
  • Fresco
  • Viper
  • Soirée
  • The Sledge-Maker's Daughter
  • Tiger, Burning
Rate this book

Release date: February 2010
Genres: science fiction, short stories
Average rating: 8.00/10
Total ratings: 1
Updated: August 21, 2021