He Is Legend: An Anthology Celebrating Richard Matheson

by Christopher Conlon
He Is Legend: An Anthology Celebrating Richard Matheson - Christopher Conlon N/A

Edited by Christopher Conlon.

Richard Matheson, the New York Times bestselling author of I Am Legend, has inspired a generation of storytellers. Now, an outstanding cast of top writers pays tribute to his legacy with an all-new collection of original stories set in Matheson's own fictional universes, including sequels, prequels, and companion stories to I Am Legend, Hell House, The Incredible Shrinking Man, Somewhere in Time, “Duel,” and “Button, Button.” Among the highlights of this one-of-a-kind anthology is the first ever collaboration between Stephen King and his son, bestselling horror writer Joe Hill. Other notable contributors include Nancy A. Collins, Joe R. Lansdale, William F. Nolan, Whitley Strieber, F. Paul Wilson, and Matheson's son, Richard Christian Matheson. Previously published as a limited edition by Gauntlet Press in 2009, He Is Legend is now available to Matheson's many fans, as well as all lovers of gripping horror and suspense.


  • Editor's Note
  • Introduction: Matheson the Master by Ramsey Campbell
  • A Tale Inspired by “Duel”: Throttle by Joe Hill and Stephen King
  • A Sequel to “The Distributor”: Recalled by F. Paul Wilson
  • A Prequel to I Am Legend: I Am Legend, Too by Mick Garris
  • A Sequel to Somewhere in Time: Two Shots from Fly’s Photo Gallery by John Shirley
  •  A Variation on The Shrinking Man: The Diary of Louise Carey by Thomas F. Monteleone
  • A Sequel to “Born of Man and Woman”: She Screech Like Me by Michael A. Arnzen
  • A Sequel to “Button, Button”: Everything of Beauty Taken from You in This Life Remains Forever by Gary A. Braunbeck
  • A Sequel to Someone is Bleeding: The Case of Peggy Ann Lister by John Maclay
  • A Sequel to “The Children of Noah”: Zachry Revisited by William F. Nolan
  • A Tale Inspired by “The Finishing Touches”: Comeback by Ed Gorman
  • A Variation on “Disappearing Act”: An Island Unto Himself by Barry Hoffman
  • A Tale Inspired by “Legion of Plotters”: Venturi by Richard Christian Matheson
  • A Sequel to “Prey”: Quarry by Joe R. Lansdale
  • A Prequel to Hell House: Return to Hell House by Nancy A. Collins
  • A Tale Inspired by Collected Stories: Cloud Rider by Whitley Strieber
  • ...And an Original Screenplay: Conjure Wife by Richard Matheson and Charles Beaumont

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

He Is Legend: An Anthology Celebrating Richard Matheson related topics

No topics yet related to this book.
Create a new topic (guest post allowed)

Release date 2009
Details updated August 14, 2022
Other books by Christopher Conlon