Memories of Ice

Steven Erikson
fantasy > high fantasy
Memories of Ice (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #3) - Steven Erikson8.82

Click here to see the original UK cover art.

The ravaged continent of Genabackis has given birth to a terrifying new empire: the Pannion Domin. Like a tide of corrupted blood, it seethes across the land, devouring all – kingdoms and cities alike – who fail to heed the word of its elusive prophet, the Pannion Seer. In its path stands an uneasy alliance: Dujek Onearm's Host and Whiskeyjack's veteran Bridgeburners – each now outlawed by the Empress – alongside their enemies of old, including the grim forces of Warlord Caladan Brood, Anomander Rake, Son of Darkness, and his Tiste Andii, and the Rhivi people of the Plains. Outnumbered by the Seer's army of fanatics and struggling to put aside their differences, it is vital they get word to potential allies, including an unknown mercenary brotherhood, the Grey Swords, who have been contracted to hold Capustan, the next city in the Domin's path.

But more ancient clans too are gathering. As if in answer to some primal summons, the massed ranks of the undead T'lan Imass have risen. For it would appear something altogether darker and more malign threatens the very substance of this world. The Warrens are poisoned, and rumours abound of the Crippled God, now unchained and intent on a terrible revenge...

Marking the return of many key characters from Gardens of the Moon and introducing a host of remarkable new players, Memories of Ice is not only the momentous new chapter in Steven Erikson's magnificent epic fantasy but also another triumph of storytelling.

"Homeric in scope and vision… Read and expect to be overpowered, not only by a story that never fails to thrill and entertain, but by a saga that lives up to its name, both intellectually and in its dramatic, visually rich and lavish storytelling." – SF Site

Rate this book

Release date: December 2001
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Average rating: 8.82/10
Total ratings: 28
Updated: August 24, 2021

The Malazan Book of the Fallen :: Series

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen is a ten books epic fantasy series written by author Steven Erikson. The scope and breadth of this series is so truly vast as to be unrivaled in the fantasy field today, mostly thanks to Erikson\'s finely crafted storytelling and his twenty years of experience in anthropology and archaeology.

Using mythology incarnate, vast legions of gods, mages, creatures, dragons, and humans play out the fate of the Malazan Empire, with action and battle scenes among the most brutal and exciting in fantasy, and the landscapes and cities among the most morose.

Belongs to the series Malazan World

The Complete Malazan Book of the Fallen
Gardens of the Moon8.24
Deadhouse Gates (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #2)8.12
Memories of Ice (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #3)8.82
House of Chains (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #4)8.72
Midnight Tides (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #5)9.40
The Bonehunters (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #6)9.04
Reaper's Gale (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #7)9.14
Toll the Hounds (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #8)9.52
Dust of Dreams (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #9)9.76
The Crippled God (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #10)9.80


10/10 |
September 01, 2015
Be sure to have tissues at the ready when reading this book. If Deadhouse Gates didn't make you moist in your eye holes, then this volume certainly will. Unless you are dead on the inside.
10/10 |
November 10, 2008
It took some time after finishing the previous part, Deadhouse gates, before I was ready to tackle Memories of Ice. Reading these novels easily becomes a full time job since they are getting pretty thick and at least for me, hard to put down. I ...
10/10 |
October 23, 2007
Memories of Ice is the third book of Tales of the Malazan Book of the Fallen. I loved this book and I think that it's definitely one of the best fantasy books ever written. Steven Erikson has managed to write an entertaining and interesting high ...