The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg Volume Six: Multiples

Robert Silverberg
science fiction, short stories
The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg Volume Six: Multiples (The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg #6) - Robert Silverberg

“By the time this present group of stories was written I had passed through the cultural turbulence that engulfed nearly everyone’s life in the wild, stormy period we know as “the Sixties,” which for me had actually lasted from 1968 to 1974 or 1975. I had come through my own angry four-year-long retirement from writing in the middle 1970s, and was working again at a steady pace, though not with the frenetic prolificacy of the pre-retirement years. At the beginning of this period my personal life was still pretty chaotic, a carryover from all that Sixties madness, and plenty of new chaos was going to descend on me while some of these stories were written, but I was tiptoeing toward an escape from the various messes that were complicating my life, and by the time the last five stories of this volume were being written I was heading into the stability of my second marriage.”

—Robert Silverberg, from his Introduction


  • Introduction
  • Tourist Trade
  • Multiples
  • Against Babylon
  • Symbiont
  • Sailing to Byzantium
  • Sunrise on Pluto
  • Hardware
  • Hannibal’s Elephants
  • Blindsight
  • Gilgamesh in the Outback
  • The Pardoner’s Tale
  • The Iron Star
  • The Secret Sharer
  • House of Bones
Rate this book

Release date: October 2011
Genres: science fiction, short stories
Updated: August 12, 2021