Reaper's Gale (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #7) - Steven Erikson9.14

The Letherii Empire – driven by the corrupt and self-interested – is crumbling. Surrounded by sycophants and agents of his venal chancellor, the Emperor Rhulad Sengar descends into madness. Conspiracies abound. The imperial secret police conduct a campaign of terror against its own people. The Errant, once a farseeing god, is suddenly blind to the future. Scenting chaos, dread forces are closing in from all sides.

Against this turbulent, treacherous backdrop, a band of fugitives are trying to flee the empire. One of them, Fear Sengar, seeks the soul of Scabandari Bloodeye, for this might save his brother, the emperor. However, with them travels Scabandari’s most ancient and bitter foe: Silchas Ruin, brother of Anomander Rake. The still-fresh wounds he carries on his back were made by the blades of Scabandari; his motives are anything but certain.

And the great Edur fleet – its warriors selected from countless peoples – draws ever closer to home. Among its number are Karsa Orlong and Icarium Lifestealer – each destined to cross blades with the emperor himself. But in crossing half the world, the Tiste Edur have left behind a tide of blood. Such brutality cannot go unanswered. For some there must be a reckoning, for some this is far from over...

A brutal, harrowing tale of war, betrayal and dark, uncontrollable magic, this is epic fantasy at its most imaginative, storytelling at its most thrilling.

"I stand slack jawed in awe of The Malazan Book of the Fallen. This masterwork of imagination may be the high watermark of epic fantasy." – Glen Cook, author of The Black Company series

Rate this book

Release date: May 7, 2007
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Average rating: 9.14/10
Total ratings: 21
Updated: August 15, 2021

The Malazan Book of the Fallen :: Series

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen is a ten books epic fantasy series written by author Steven Erikson. The scope and breadth of this series is so truly vast as to be unrivaled in the fantasy field today, mostly thanks to Erikson\'s finely crafted storytelling and his twenty years of experience in anthropology and archaeology.

Using mythology incarnate, vast legions of gods, mages, creatures, dragons, and humans play out the fate of the Malazan Empire, with action and battle scenes among the most brutal and exciting in fantasy, and the landscapes and cities among the most morose.

Belongs to the series Malazan World

The Complete Malazan Book of the Fallen
Gardens of the Moon (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #1)8.26
Deadhouse Gates (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #2)8.12
Memories of Ice (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #3)8.82
House of Chains (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #4)8.72
Midnight Tides (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #5)9.40
The Bonehunters (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #6)9.04
Reaper's Gale (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #7)9.14
Toll the Hounds (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #8)9.52
Dust of Dreams (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #9)9.76
The Crippled God (The Malazan Book of the Fallen #10)9.80


10/10 |
October 24, 2007
Reaper's Gale is the seventh book of Tales of the Malazan Book of the Fallen. I enjoyed reading this book. This seventh book is very good and the story is excellent. If you've enjoyed reading the previous books by Steven Erikson, you should read this book. You'll like it.