The Gap into Power: A Dark and Hungry God Arises

by Stephen R. Donaldson
The Gap into Power: A Dark and Hungry God Arises (The Gap Series #3) - Stephen R. Donaldson 9.66   3

A master storyteller, Stephen R. Donaldson established himself worldwide with his unforgettable bestselling fantasy series The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant. Then, with The Real Story and Forbidden Knowledge, he launched a thrilling new science fiction cycle. Now the galactic epic continues as humanity struggles against the forces of ultimate evil – and its own dark nature.


Billingate: illegal shipyard, haven for pirates and brigands, where every vice flourishes and every appetite can be sated... gateway to the alien realm of the Amnion and clearinghouse for all they require to fulfill their mutagenic plans against humanity.

It is here that beautiful UMCP cop Morn Hyland is about to be traded to the Amnion by the buccaneer Nick Succorso – an act of profiteering and revenge that pushes his crew to mutiny. Now Nick's survival depends on retrieving Morn's sixteen-year-old son ”force-grown” by the Amnion, a boy struggling to gain his identity. To accomplish the rescue, Nick must turn to his mortal enemy, Angus Thermopyle. Irrevocably altered, programmed for an unknown purpose, Thermopyle has apparently escaped captivity and fled to Billingate with the infamous double-dealer, Milos Taverner. Together, they will mount a raid against a man called the Bill, illegal spaceport owner and traitor to the human race – and into the center of the most heavily defended shipyard in the universe.

At Billingate, the stage is set for confrontation, when the fate of Morn Hyland is to be decided in a kaleidoscopic whirl of plot and counterplot, treachery and betrayal.

In A Dark and Hungry God Arises, nothing is as it seems. As schemes unravel to reveal yet deeper schemes, the lives of Morn, Nick, and Angus may all be forfeit as pawns in the titanic game played out between Warden Dios, dedicated director of the UMC Police, and the Dragon, greed-driven ruler of the UMC. Here, the future of humankind hangs on the uncertain fortune of Morn Hyland in a daring novel of epic power and suspense, relentlessly gripping from the first page to the last.

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Release date 1992
Details updated August 23, 2022

The Gap Series :: Series

Series contains 5 primary works and has 5 total works.

Stephen R. Donaldson has won a worldwide reputation for his bestselling, critically acclaimed works of imaginative fiction. In a stunning science fiction cycle, the Gap series, he has created a vast panorama of characters and events, an epic adventure of galactic struggle amid the uncertainties of human destiny.

The Gap into Conflict: The Real Story (The Gap Series #1) 4.80   5
The Gap into Vision: Forbidden Knowledge (The Gap Series #2) 8.00   3
The Gap into Power: A Dark and Hungry God Arises (The Gap Series #3) 9.66   3
The Gap into Madness: Chaos and Order (The Gap Series #4) 10.00   3
The Gap into Ruin: This Day All Gods Die (The Gap Series #5) 10.00   3

Community Reviews & Rates

Seregil of Rhiminee
Seregil of Rhiminee
3518 ratings
260 reviews
3602 posts
March 18, 2014
Gave 10 / 10 rating to this book
96 ratings
0 reviews
1 posts
January 29, 2014
Gave 9 / 10 rating to this book
1442 ratings
0 reviews
132 posts
August 8, 2007
Gave 10 / 10 rating to this book