The Gap into Madness: Chaos and Order

by Stephen R. Donaldson
The Gap into Madness: Chaos and Order (The Gap Series #4) - Stephen R. Donaldson 10.00   3

British Fantasy Award nominee 1996.

Stephen R. Donaldson has earned a worldwide reputation as one of the bestselling imaginative authors of all time. His thrilling science fiction cycle – The Real Story, Forbidden Knowledge, and A Dark and Hungry God Arises – has introduced us to an adventure as vast as the galaxy and as unpredictable as the human heart. Now the adventure continues in the next to last chapter of one of the most powerful science fiction epics ever told...


As the planetoid Thanatos Minor explodes into atoms, a specially fitted cruiser escapes the mass destruction and hurtles into space only a step ahead of hostile pursuit. On board Trumpet is a handful of bedraggled fugitives from an outlaw world, old enemies suddenly and violently thrown together in a desperate bid for survival.

Among this unlikely crew of allies are Morn Hyland, once a UMCP cop, now a prisoner to the electrodes implanted in her brain; her son, Davies, ”force-grown” to adulthood by the alien Amnion and struggling to understand his true identity; the amoral space buccaneer Nick Succorso, whose most daring act of piracy could be his last; and Angus Thermopyle, unstoppable cyborg struggling to wrest control of his own mind from his UMCP programmers.

Locked in a lethal battle against one another for control of Trumpet, they also find themselves the target of Punisher, a police ship whose human captain, Min Donner, is torn between her duty and her sympathy for the outlaw crew she's been ordered to capture. Yet as Min races to reach Trumpet in time, Warden Dios, the director of the UMC Police, receives a darker directive from the mysterious, semi-immortal Dragon, ruler of the UMC: Kill everyone aboard Trumpet except for the one person whose blood carries the mutagenic key to ultimate Amnion triumph – the ability to appear perfectly human.

In a final titanic showdown in space, amid uncharted comets, planets, and asteroid swarms, these forces will converge in a contest of skill and survival on which their future – and the future of the galaxy – depends. In Chaos and Order Stephen R. Donaldson has created his most powerful and labyrinthine tale yet, peeling away layer upon layer of intrigue and double cross to lay bare the chilling plan for the conquest of humanity.

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

The Gap into Madness: Chaos and Order related topics

No topics yet related to this book.
Create a new topic (guest post allowed)

Release date 1994
Details updated August 29, 2022

The Gap Series :: Series

Series contains 5 primary works and has 5 total works.

Stephen R. Donaldson has won a worldwide reputation for his bestselling, critically acclaimed works of imaginative fiction. In a stunning science fiction cycle, the Gap series, he has created a vast panorama of characters and events, an epic adventure of galactic struggle amid the uncertainties of human destiny.

The Gap into Conflict: The Real Story (The Gap Series #1) 4.80   5
The Gap into Vision: Forbidden Knowledge (The Gap Series #2) 8.00   3
The Gap into Power: A Dark and Hungry God Arises (The Gap Series #3) 9.66   3
The Gap into Madness: Chaos and Order (The Gap Series #4) 10.00   3
The Gap into Ruin: This Day All Gods Die (The Gap Series #5) 10.00   3

Community Reviews & Rates

Seregil of Rhiminee
Seregil of Rhiminee
3519 ratings
260 reviews
3603 posts
March 18, 2014
Gave 10 / 10 rating to this book
96 ratings
0 reviews
1 posts
March 18, 2014
Gave 10 / 10 rating to this book
1444 ratings
0 reviews
132 posts
August 8, 2007
Gave 10 / 10 rating to this book