Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy #2) - Deborah Harkness8.42

Together we lifted our feet and stepped into the unknown.

Shortly after Diana Bishop and Matthew Clairmont timewalk to London, 1590, they discover that the past may not provide a safe haven after all. Reclaiming his former identity as poet and spy Matthew Roydon, the vampire falls back in step with a group of radicals known as the School of Night who share dangerous ideas about God, science, and man. Many of his friends are unruly daemons - the creative minds of the age who walk the fine line between genius and madness - including playwright Christopher Marlowe and mathematician Thomas Harriot. Matthew, himself, is expected to continue to spy for Queen Elizabeth, which puts him in close contact with London's cutthroat underworld.

Together, Matthew and Diana scour the bookstalls and alchemical laboratories of London where they follow the elusive trail of Ashmole 782 - and search for the witch who will teach Diana to control her powers.

Rate this book

Release date: July 9, 2012
Genres: fantasy, romance
Average rating: 8.42/10
Total ratings: 12
Updated: August 24, 2021

All Souls Trilogy :: Series

The All Souls Trilogy follows the story of Diana Bishop, a historian and reluctant witch, as she solves the mystery of Ashmole 782, falls in love with a mysterious vampire named Matthew Clairmont, and learns how powerful it can be to accept who you are.

Belongs to the series All Souls Universe

A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1)7.64
Shadow of Night (All Souls Trilogy #2)8.42
The Book of Life (All Souls Trilogy #3)9.60