The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle
Avg rating 4.10
4.10 stars
Give rating

Ratings (5)

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

by Haruki Murakami
Release date: 1997
Original title: Nejimaki-dori Kuronikuru
Type: other fiction
Genres: magical realism
Tags: translation

The original novel was published in three volumes in 1994-1995:

  1. Dorobo kasasagi hen
  2. Yogen suru tori hen
  3. Torisashi otoko hen

Japan's most highly regarded novelist now vaults into the first ranks of international fiction writers with this heroically imaginative novel, which is at once a detective story, an account of a disintegrating marriage, and an excavation of the buried secrets of World War II.

In a Tokyo suburb a young man named Toru Okada searches for his wife's missing cat. Soon he finds himself looking for his wife as well in a netherworld that lies beneath the placid surface of Tokyo. As these searches intersect, Okada encounters a bizarre group of allies and antagonists: a psychic prostitute; a malevolent yet mediagenic politician; a cheerfully morbid sixteen-year-old-girl; and an aging war veteran who has been permanently changed by the hideous things he witnessed during Japan's forgotten campaign in Manchuria.

Gripping, prophetic, suffused with comedy and menace, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle is a tour de force equal in scope to the masterpieces of Mishima and Pynchon.

(updated 2017-01-15)

Other books you might like

The Prisoner of Heaven (The Cemetery of Forgotten Books, #3)The Labyrinth of the Spirits (The Cemetery of Forgotten Books, #4)Before I FallThe Rabbit Back Literature SocietyMarina
Online 43 visitors
Newest member: Badri Narayan
Total members: 5236