Scourge of the Betrayer

by Jeff Salyards
Scourge of the Betrayer (Bloodsounder's Arc #1) - Jeff Salyards 7.00   3

A gritty new fantasy saga begins...

Many tales are told of the Syldoon Empire and its fearsome soldiers, who are known throughout the world for their treachery and atrocities. Some say that the Syldoon eat virgins and babies – or perhaps their own mothers. Arkamondos, a bookish young scribe, suspects that the Syldoon’s dire reputation may have grown in the retelling, but he’s about to find out for himself.

Hired to chronicle the exploits of a band of rugged Syldoon warriors, Arki finds himself both frightened and fascinated by the men’s enigmatic leader, Captain Braylar Killcoin. A secretive, mercurial figure haunted by the memories of those he’s killed with his deadly flail, Braylar has already disposed of at least one impertinent scribe... and Arki might be next.

Archiving the mundane doings of millers and merchants was tedious, but at least it was safe. As Arki heads off on a mysterious mission into parts unknown, in the company of the coarse, bloody-minded Syldoon, he is promised a chance to finally record an historic adventure well worth the telling, but first he must survive the experience!

A gripping military fantasy in the tradition of Glen Cook, Scourge of the Betrayer explores the brutal politics of Empire – and the searing impact of violence and dark magic on a man’s soul.


Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book


Release date April 26, 2012
Details updated July 9, 2022

Bloodsounder's Arc :: Series

Series contains 3 primary works and has 3 total works.

Scourge of the Betrayer (Bloodsounder's Arc #1) 7.00   3
Veil of the Deserters (Bloodsounder's Arc #2) 10.00   1
Chains of the Heretic (Bloodsounder's Arc #3) N/A

Community Reviews & Rates

Elviira
Elviira
567 ratings
0 reviews
0 posts
May 28, 2019
Gave 8 / 10 rating to this book
Simeoni
Simeoni
171 ratings
0 reviews
0 posts
November 2, 2013
Gave 5 / 10 rating to this book
Seregil of Rhiminee
Seregil of Rhiminee
3518 ratings
260 reviews
3602 posts
January 25, 2013
Gave 8 / 10 rating to this book