Scourge of the Betrayer (Bloodsounder's Arc, #1)
Avg rating 3.50
3.50 stars
Give rating
star1
star2
star3
star4
star5
star6
star7
star8
star9
star10

Ratings (3)
Statistics

Scourge of the Betrayer

by Jeff Salyards
Release date: April 26, 2012
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy

A gritty new fantasy saga begins...

Many tales are told of the Syldoon Empire and its fearsome soldiers, who are known throughout the world for their treachery and atrocities. Some say that the Syldoon eat virgins and babies – or perhaps their own mothers. Arkamondos, a bookish young scribe, suspects that the Syldoon’s dire reputation may have grown in the retelling, but he’s about to find out for himself.

Hired to chronicle the exploits of a band of rugged Syldoon warriors, Arki finds himself both frightened and fascinated by the men’s enigmatic leader, Captain Braylar Killcoin. A secretive, mercurial figure haunted by the memories of those he’s killed with his deadly flail, Braylar has already disposed of at least one impertinent scribe... and Arki might be next.

Archiving the mundane doings of millers and merchants was tedious, but at least it was safe. As Arki heads off on a mysterious mission into parts unknown, in the company of the coarse, bloody-minded Syldoon, he is promised a chance to finally record an historic adventure well worth the telling, but first he must survive the experience!

A gripping military fantasy in the tradition of Glen Cook, Scourge of the Betrayer explores the brutal politics of Empire – and the searing impact of violence and dark magic on a man’s soul.

(updated 2016-10-03)

Other books you might like

Circle of Shadows (Circle of Shadows, #1)Age of Legend (The Legends of the First Empire, #4)Broken Blade (Fallen Blade, #1)The Gates of Tagmeth (Chronicles of the Kencyrath, #8)The Silver Girl
Online 31 visitors
Newest member: Roope Kiiski
Total members: 5205