Shadow and Bone (The Grisha Trilogy #1) - Leigh Bardugo7.76

Previously published in the UK as The Gathering Dark.

Sweeping, glorious fantasy romance about an orphan who must save her kingdom from the seductive and terrifying Darkling. The most compelling romance since Twilight.

The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom's magical elite - the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfil her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina's childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can't she ever quite forget him?

Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance.

Rate this book

Release date: May 15, 2012
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy, young adult
Tags: tv series
Average rating: 7.76/10
Total ratings: 78
Updated: April 10, 2021

The Grisha Trilogy :: Series

Also known as The Shadow and Bone Trilogy.

Belongs to the series The Grishaverse

Shadow and Bone (The Grisha Trilogy #1)7.76
Siege and Storm (The Grisha Trilogy #2)7.68
Ruin and Rising (The Grisha Trilogy #3)7.42