Blood's Pride (Shattered Kingdoms, #1)
Avg rating 4.00
4.00 stars
Give rating
star1
star2
star3
star4
star5
star6
star7
star8
star9
star10

Ratings (1)
Statistics

Blood's Pride

by Evie Manieri
Release date: August 29, 2012
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy

Rising from their sea-torn ships like vengeful, pale phantoms, the Norlanders laid waste to the Shadar under cover of darkness. They forced the once-peaceful fisher folk into slavery and forged an alliance with their former trading partners, the desert-dwelling Nomas tribe, cutting off any hope of salvation.

Now, two decades after the invasion, a rebellion gathers strength in the dark corridors of the city. A small faction of Shadari have hired the Mongrel, an infamous mercenary, to aid their fledgling uprising — but with her own shadowy ties to the region, she is a frighteningly volatile ally. Has she really come to lead a revolution, or for a more sinister purpose all her own?

This thrilling new epic fantasy is set in a quasi-Medieval Mediterranean region, drawing together the warrior culture of Vikings, the wanderlust of desert nomads, and the oracles of ancient Greece. Evie Manieri's Blood's Pride is an intricate, lush fantasy novel full of taut action, gut-wrenching betrayal, and soaring romance.

“Plot and pacing to leave you breathless, characters you will treasure — a terrific debut!” — Melanie Rawn, author of Touchstone

“Eve Manieri deftly portrays three clashing cultures about to be torn apart by violent rebellion. Against the background of war and revolution, three mismatched couples struggle to stay true to their families, themselves, and the ones they love. I found myself deeply engrossed in this fast-paced tale of honor and betrayal, hope and despair, secrets, revelations, and a whisper of divine magic.”
— Sharon Shinn, author of Troubled Waters

“This clever take on epic fantasy, filled with unexpected twists and turns right to the end, will undoubtedly appeal to fans of Michelle West and Patricia Bray.”
— Rachel Neumeier, author of the Griffin Mage Trilogy

(updated 2016-09-10)

Other books you might like

Firestorm (The Worldmaker Trilogy, #3)Priest of Lies (War for the Rose Throne, #2)The Alchemy of Chaos (Maradaine, #2)The Burning IsleThe First Confessor: The Legend of Magda Searus
Online 1 member and 53 visitors
FreakyMike
Newest member: Brianna Sumaya
Total members: 5412