Stone of Farewell (Memory, Sorrow and Thorn, #2)
Avg rating 3.69
3.69 stars
Give rating

Ratings (162)

Stone of Farewell

by Tad Williams
Release date: 1990
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy

Cover: Michael Whelan.

In this mesmerizing sequel to The Dragonbone Chair, best-selling author Tad Williams returns us to the troubled realms of humans, Quanuc trolls, and Sithi, as the dark magic and terrifying minions of the undead Sithi ruler, Ineluki the Storm King, spread their seemingly undefeatable evil across the realm of Osten Ard.

As the very land is blighted by the power of Ineluki's wrath, the tattered remnants of a once-proud human army flee in search of a last sanctuary and rallying point — the Stone of Farewell, a place shrouded in mystery and ancient sorrow. And the widely scattered surviving members of the League of the Scroll desperately struggle to fulfill missions which will take them from the fallen citadels of humans to the hidden mountain caves of the Qanuc... across storm-tormented waters to discover the truth behind an almost-forgotten legend... through a forest alive with dangers no human could hope to brave... to the secret heartland of the Sithi, where the near-immortals must at last decide whether to ally with the race of men in a final war against those of their own blood...

updated 2017-01-16

Other books you might like

The Empire of Ashes (The Draconis Memoria, #3)Stormlord's Exile (Watergivers, #3)The Last Conclave (The Lost Prophecy, #6)Against All Things Ending (The Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, #3)A Crucible of Souls (Sorcery Ascendant Sequence, #1)

Reviews (1)

Seregil of Rhiminee avatar
Written by
Stone of Farewell is the second book of Memory, Sorrow and Thorn. Stone of Farewell is a much better book than The Dragonbone Chair. Tad Williams writes fluently, the story is entertaining and the characters are interesting. I can recommend this book to all fantasy fans.
Online 37 visitors
Newest member: gnanvitha kosaraju
Total members: 5720