The Dawn Country

by Kathleen O'Neal Gear, W. Michael Gear
Release date: 2011
Type: other fiction
Genres: paleofiction

The epic tale that began in People of the Longhouse continues in this second book of the thrilling new Iroquois quartet by bestselling authors and archaeologists Kathleen O’Neal Gear and W. Michael Gear.

War Chief Koracoo and Deputy Gonda of the Standing Stone People have successfully rescued their children, Odion and Tutelo, from Gannajero the Trader. Known as the Crow, Gannajero is a figure out of nightmare — a witch who steals children. Odion’s friend Wrass is still held captive, along with several other children, in Gannajero’s camp, and Koracoo and Gonda are determined to save them all.

This time, Koracoo and Gonda have allies: a battle-weary Mohawk war chief and a Healer from the People of the Dawnland, who have also lost children to Gannajero. These bitter enemies must learn to trust each other and find common ground. Will they be able to put their differences aside and rescue the children before they are sold and carried off to distant villages — and lost to their families and homes forever?

With their trademark mastery of American prehistory, Kathleen and Michael Gear tell a very human story of love and courage set against the backdrop of violent and endemic warfare of the Iroquois nations prior to the founding of the League of the Iroquois.

updated 2017-01-15

Other books you might like

The Mammoth Hunters (Earth's Children, #3)Mother Earth, Father Sky (The Ivory Carver Trilogy, #1)My Sister the Moon (The Ivory Carver Trilogy, #2)The Plains of Passage (Earth's Children, #4)The Valley of Horses (Earth's Children, #2)
Online 1 member and 37 visitors
Total members: 5717