The Broken Land

by Kathleen O'Neal Gear, W. Michael Gear
Release date: January 2012
Type: other fiction
Genres: paleofiction

A novel of North America’s Forgotten Past

Twelve summers after the events of The People of the Longhouse and The Dawn Country, the Iroquois nations remain locked in bitter warfare. Atotarho, the cannibal-sorcerer who leads the People of the Hills, schemes to set into motion a cataclysmic battle that threatens to destroy the Iroquoian world. His warriors spread fear and death wherever they go, taking captives and burning villages to the ground.

Only five people are brave enough to challenge Atotarho. Odion, Wrass, Tutelo, Baji, and Zateri, kidnapped as children and sold into slavery, are now grown, and they have forged a desperate alliance that just might be strong enough to stop the madman.

Odion, now a disgraced warrior known as Dekanawida or Sky Messenger, must convince his people that his visions of a great darkness will mean total destruction for all. His friend Wrass, who has become War Chief Hiyawento, and a powerful clan matron, Jigonsaseh, are his only hope. They must find a way to bring five warring nations together.

Bestselling authors and archaeologists Kathleen O’Neal Gear and W. Michael Gear continue their retelling of the story of the Peacemaker, one of North America’s most beautiful epics. Dekanawida’s message of compassion and spiritual unity is as powerful today as it was six hundred years ago — perhaps even more so.

updated 2017-01-17

Other books you might like

The Valley of Horses (Earth's Children, #2)My Sister the Moon (The Ivory Carver Trilogy, #2)The Clan of the Cave Bear (Earth's Children, #1)The Shelters of Stone (Earth's Children, #5)The Mammoth Hunters (Earth's Children, #3)
Online 22 visitors
Newest member: Алёна С
Total members: 5713