The Unreal and the Real: Outer Space, Inner Lands

Ursula K. Le Guin
science fiction, fantasy, short stories
The Unreal and the Real: Outer Space, Inner Lands (The Unreal and the Real: Selected Stories #2) - Ursula K. Le Guin

Locus Award nominee 2013, World Fantasy Award nominee 2013.

“She is the reigning queen of... but immediately we come to a difficulty, for what is the fitting name of her kingdom? Or, in view of her abiding concern with the ambiguities of gender, her queendom, or perhaps — considering how she likes to mix and match — her quinkdom? Or may she more properly be said to have not one such realm, but two?” — Margaret Atwood, New York Review of Books

Ursula K. Le Guin’s nonrealistic stories which have shaped the way many readers see the world. She gives voice to the voiceless, hope to the outsider, and speaks truth to power — all the time maintaining her independence and sense of humor.

This two-volume selection of Le Guin’s stories — as selected by the author — omits stories directly connected to novels. The second volume, Outer Space, Inner Lands, focuses on Le Guin’s stories of the fantastic such as “The Ones Who Walked Away from Omelas” and “The Matter of Seggri” and includes stories from The Compass Rose, The Wind’s Twelve Quarters, Buffalo Gals, Fisherman of the Inland Sea, The Birthday of the World, and Changing Planes.

The Unreal and the Real is a much-anticipated event which will delight, amuse, and provoke.

Rate this book

Release date: November 2012
Genres: science fiction, fantasy, short stories
Average rating: 10.00/10
Total ratings: 1
Updated: August 19, 2021