Voice of the Fire

by Alan Moore
Voice of the Fire - Alan Moore 7.00   1

In a story full of lust, madness, and ecstasy, we meet twelve distinctive characters that lived in the same region of central England over the span of six thousand years. Their narratives are woven together in patterns of recurring events, strange traditions, and uncanny visions. First, a cave-boy loses his mother, falls in love, and learns a deadly lesson. He is followed by an extraordinary cast of characters: a murderess who impersonates her victim, a fisherman who believes he has become a different species, a Roman emissary who realizes the bitter truth about the Empire, a crippled nun who is healed miraculously by a disturbing apparition, an old crusader whose faith is destroyed by witnessing the ultimate relic, two witches, lovers, who burn at the stake. Each interconnected tale traces a path in a journey of discovery of the secrets of the land.

In the tradition of Kipling's Puck of Pook's Hill, Schwob's Imaginary Lives, and Borges' A Universal History of Infamy, Alan Moore (Watchmen, From Hell, Lost Girls) travels through history blending truth and conjecture, in a novel that is dazzling, moving, sometimes tragic, but always mesmerizing.

Category: History

Release date 1996

Details updated August 25, 2021

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Other books by Alan Moore
Watchmen 8.84   131
V for Vendetta 8.86   111
From Hell 8.28   22
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Volume I (The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen #1) 8.30   49
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Volume II (The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen #2) 8.02   50
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Black Dossier 6.92   12
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1910 6.48   25
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 1969 5.88   17
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: The Omnibus Edition 8.40   5
The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Century 2009 5.36   11
Saga of the Swamp Thing, Book 1 (Saga of the Swamp Thing #1) 8.00   2
Saga of the Swamp Thing, Book 2 (Saga of the Swamp Thing #2) 8.00   2
Saga of the Swamp Thing, Book 3 (Saga of the Swamp Thing #3) 7.50   2
Nemo: Heart of Ice 5.34   12
Saga of the Swamp Thing, Book 4 (Saga of the Swamp Thing #4) 7.50   2
Saga of the Swamp Thing, Book 5 (Saga of the Swamp Thing #5) 8.00   1
Nemo: The Roses of Berlin N/A
Saga of the Swamp Thing, Book 6 (Saga of the Swamp Thing #6) 7.00   1
Jerusalem N/A
Illuminations: Stories 8.50   2
Book One of the Long London (Long London #1) 8.50   2
Book Two of the Long London (Long London #2) 8.00   2

Community Reviews & Rates

Bill B
Bill B
555 ratings
0 reviews
12 posts
March 17, 2014
7 / 10
Gave rating to this book