Red Seas Under Red Skies (The Gentleman Bastard Sequence #2) - Scott Lynch8.80

In his highly acclaimed debut, The Lies of Locke Lamora, Scott Lynch took us on an adrenaline-fueled adventure with a band of daring thieves led by con artist extraordinaire Locke Lamora. Now Lynch brings back his outrageous hero for a caper so death-defying, nothing short of a miracle will pull it off.

After a brutal battle with the underworld that nearly destroyed him, Locke and his trusted sidekick, Jean, fled the island city of their birth and landed on the exotic shores of Tal Verrar to nurse their wounds. But even at this westernmost edge of civilization, they can’t rest for long – and are soon back to what they do best: stealing from the undeserving rich and pocketing the proceeds for themselves.

This time, however, they have targeted the grandest prize of all: the Sinspire, the most exclusive and heavily guarded gambling house in the world. Its nine floors attract the wealthiest clientele – and to rise to the top, one must impress with good credit, amusing behavior… and excruciatingly impeccable play. For there is one cardinal rule, enforced by Requin, the house’s cold-blooded master: it is death to cheat at any game at the Sinspire.

Brazenly undeterred, Locke and Jean have orchestrated an elaborate plan to lie, trick, and swindle their way up the nine floors… straight to Requin’s teeming vault. Under the cloak of false identities, they meticulously make their climb – until they are closer to the spoils than ever.

But someone in Tal Verrar has uncovered the duo’s secret. Someone from their past who has every intention of making the impudent criminals pay for their sins. Now it will take every ounce of cunning to save their mercenary souls. And even that may not be enough…

Rate this book

Release date: June 2007
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy, adventure
Average rating: 8.80/10
Total ratings: 40
Updated: August 14, 2021

The Gentleman Bastard Sequence :: Series

Follow the the life and adventures of Locke Lamora, a master con artist in a world where con artistry, as we know it, is a new and rare style of crime. These seven novels will reveal his grand ambitions as well as his astounding failures. See his wits pitted against ever-increasing odds on behalf of the few things that truly matter to him, through the highs and lows of crime, courtly intrigue, politics, love, and war...

The Mad Baron's Mechanical Attic9.08
The Lies of Locke Lamora (The Gentleman Bastard Sequence #1)8.84
Red Seas Under Red Skies (The Gentleman Bastard Sequence #2)8.80
The Republic of Thieves (The Gentleman Bastard Sequence #3)8.58
The Thorn of Emberlain (The Gentleman Bastard Sequence #4)9.04
The Ministry of Necessity (The Gentleman Bastard Sequence #5)8.66
The Mage and the Master Spy (The Gentleman Bastard Sequence #6)8.66
Inherit the Night (The Gentleman Bastard Sequence #7)8.66


10/10 |
July 28, 2013
The Lies of Locke Lamora was a hard book to follow, being one of the best first novels from a new author I've ever read. Red Seas Under Red Skies, however, did not fail to impress. What can I say? The pacing, as ever, is phenomenal. There's always ...