Moving the Mountain (Herland #1) - Charlotte Perkins Gilman

Moving the Mountain is the first book in Charlotte Perkins Stetson Gilman's well known trilogy. The second book in the trilogy is her land mark classic Herland. Moving Mountain delivers Gilman's program for reforming society. She concentrates on measures of rationality and efficiency that could be instituted in her own time, largely with greater social cooperation - equal education and treatment for girls and boys, day-care centers for working women, and other issues still relevant a century later. Yet Gilman also allows for technological progress: electric power is the motive force in industry and urban society, power generated largely by the tides, wind-mills, water mills, and solar engines.

Rate this book

Release date: 1911
Genres: science fiction
Updated: August 30, 2021

Herland :: Series

The Herland Trilogy
Moving the Mountain (Herland #1)
Herland (Herland #2)5.86
With Her in Ourland (Herland #3)