The Oathbreaker's Shadow (The Knots Sequence, #1)
Give rating
star1
star2
star3
star4
star5
star6
star7
star8
star9
star10

Statistics

The Oathbreaker's Shadow

by Amy McCulloch
Release date: June 6, 2013
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy, young adult

Fans of Philip Pullman, Jonathan Stroud, and George R.R. Martin are going to love this action-filled fantasy novel by an exciting and extremely promotable debut voice in the genre.

In the world of fifteen-year-old Raim, you tie a knot for every promise you make. Break that promise and the knot will burst into flames, scarring your skin and forever marking you as an oathbreaker.

Raim has worn a simple knot around his wrist for as long as he can remember. No one seems to know where it came from or which promise it symbolizes, and Raim barely thinks about it at all - especially not since he became the most promising young fighter ever to train for the elite Yun guard. But on the day that he binds his life to that of his best friend (and the future king), Khareh, the rope ignites and sears a dark mark into his skin.

Scarred now as an oathbreaker, Raim has two options: run or be killed. He chooses to run, taking refuge in the vast desert among a colony of exiled oathbreakers. Will he be able to learn the skills he needs to clear his name? And even if he can, how can he keep a promise he never knew he made in the first place?

(updated 2016-12-05)

Other books you might like

Descendant of the CraneBefore the Broken Star (The Evermore Chronicles, #1)Frozen Reign (Burning Glass, #3)Once a King (A Clash of Kingdoms , #3)For a Muse of Fire ( For a Muse of Fire, #1)
Online 134 visitors
Newest member: Roope Kiiski
Total members: 5205