The Woken Gods
Give rating
star1
star2
star3
star4
star5
star6
star7
star8
star9
star10

Statistics

The Woken Gods

by Gwenda Bond
Release date: August 31, 2013
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy, young adult

The more things change...

Ten years ago, the gods of ancient mythology awoke all around the world.

The more things stay the same...

This morning, seventeen-year-old Kyra Locke was late for school.

But that’s not out of the ordinary in a transformed Washington, D.C., dominated by the embassies of divine pantheons and watched over by the mysterious Society of the Sun that governs mankind’s relations with the gods. What is unusual is Kyra’s encounter with two trickster gods on her way home, one offering a threat, and the other a warning. Kyra escapes with the aid of young operatives from the Society, who inform her that her scholarly father has disappeared from its headquarters at the Library of Congress and taken a dangerous Egyptian relic with him. The Society needs the item back, and they aren’t interested in Kyra’s protests that she knows nothing about it.

Now Kyra must depend on her wits and the help of everyone from a paranoid ex-boyfriend to scary Sumerian gods to operatives whose allegiance is first and always to the Society. She has no choice if she’s going to clear her father’s name and recover the missing relic before the impending summer solstice. What's at stake? Just the end of the world as Kyra knows it.

From the author of Blackwood comes a fresh, thrilling urban fantasy that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Cassandra Clare, and Rick Riordan.

(updated 2013-08-31)

Other books you might like

League of Archers (League of Archers, #1)Cold Burn of Magic (Black Blade, #1)Dreaming Awake (Falling Under, #2)Darwen Arkwright and the Peregrine Pact (Darwen Arkwright, #1)The Gift (Witch & Wizard, #2)
Online 42 visitors
Newest member: Mahendra Bansod
Total members: 5170