by Adrian Dawson
Release date: 2010
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, thriller

When Jack Bernstein’s prodigal daughter Lara is killed as a? result of the bombing of flight 320, the chess grandmaster is? completely unaware that the flight was downed for one reason... ?to ensure that his daughter never made it home.

Having been summoned via a strangely coded message to a meeting with a man referring to himself only as ‘Simon’, Jack is made aware that his daughter was leaving a lot more than her new life behind. She was also leaving a secret... one that has been building for centuries and one which a global group of corporations will stop at nothing to protect. It soon becomes apparent that Lara Bernstein’s new life was no accident. Lara was selected to become part of an ever-expanding belief and her selection was a direct result of her father’s company’s near-perfection of the one thing they need - true artificial intelligence, computer systems capable of cracking the most complex codal system known to man.

Slowly, Jack Bernstein is being drawn into a global game of chess in which he has been an unwitting pawn for over a decade. To keep him in the game they have already killed his wife and now his daughter. When the game is over, they will kill a whole lot more...

...unless Jack can find the one thing he never dreamed existed.

updated 2013-01-26

Other books you might like

Ghost Country (Travis Chase, #2)HearDeath at the Flea CircusThe Calypso DirectiveChimera (Parasitology, #3)
Online 1 member and 52 visitors
Newest member: Ayush
Total members: 6064