The Sea Thy Mistress

by Elizabeth Bear
The Sea Thy Mistress (The Edda of Burdens #3) - Elizabeth Bear 8.00   1

This direct sequel to Elizabeth Bear’s highly acclaimed All the Windwracked Stars picks up the story some fifty years after Muire went into the sea and became the new Bearer of Burdens.

Beautiful Cathoair, now an immortal warrior angel, has been called back to the city of Eiledon to raise his son — Muire’s son as well—cast up on shore as an infant. It is seemingly a quiet life. But deadly danger approaches: The evil goddess Heythe, who engineered the death of Valdyrgard, has travelled forward in time on her rainbow steed. She came expecting to gloat over a dead world, the proof of her revenge, but instead she finds a rekindled land, renewed by Muire’s sacrifice.

She will have her revenge by forcing this new Bearer of Burdens to violate her oaths and break her bonds and thus bring about the true and final end of Valdyrgard. She will do it by tormenting both Cathoair and his son Cathmar. But Mingan, the gray wolf, sees his old enemy Heythe’s return. He will not allow it to happen again.

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

The Sea Thy Mistress related topics

No topics yet related to this book.
Create a new topic (guest post allowed)

Release date January 28, 2011
Details updated July 26, 2022

The Edda of Burdens :: Series

Series contains 3 primary works and has 3 total works.

From multi-award-winning author Elizabeth Bear, The Edda of Burdens fantasy trilogy is inspired by Norse folklore.

All the Windwracked Stars (The Edda of Burdens #1) N/A
By the Mountain Bound (The Edda of Burdens #2) N/A
The Sea Thy Mistress (The Edda of Burdens #3) 8.00   1

Community Reviews & Rates

365 ratings
0 reviews
0 posts
January 15, 2012
Gave 8 / 10 rating to this book