Startide Rising

David Brin
science fiction > space opera
Startide Rising (Uplift #2) - David Brin7.68

Hugo Award 1984. Nebula Award 1983.

David Brin's Uplift novels are among the most thrilling and extraordinary science fiction ever written. Sundiver, Startide Rising, and The Uplift War – a New York Times bestseller – together make up one of the most beloved sagas of all time. Brin's tales are set in a future universe in which no species can reach sentience without being "uplifted" by a patron race. But the greatest mystery of all remains unsolved: who uplifted humankind?

The Terran exploration vessel Streaker has crashed in the uncharted water world of Kithrup, bearing one of the most important discoveries in galactic history. Below, a handful of her human and dolphin crew battles armed rebellion and a hostile planet to safeguard her secret – the fate of the Progenitors, the fabled First Race who seeded wisdom throughout the stars.

Rate this book

Release date: 1983
Genres: science fictionspace opera
Tags: hugo award, locus award, nebula award
Average rating: 7.68/10
Total ratings: 47
Updated: August 21, 2021

Uplift :: Series

Belongs to the series Uplift Universe

Startide Rising (Uplift #2)7.68
The Uplift War (Uplift #3)8.86