The Emperor's Blades (The Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne, #1)
Avg rating 3.95
3.95 stars
Give rating
star1
star2
star3
star4
star5
star6
star7
star8
star9
star10

Ratings (10)
Statistics

The Emperor's Blades

by Brian Staveley
Release date: January 2014
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy

David Gemmell Morningstar Award 2015.

The first novel in a gripping new epic fantasy series in the tradition of Brandon Sanderson and Geroge R. R. Martin

The emperor of Annur is dead, slain by enemies unknown. His daughter and two sons, scattered across the world, do what they must to stay alive and unmask the assassins. But each of them also has a life-path on which their father set them, destinies entangled with both ancient enemies and inscrutable gods.

Kaden, the heir to the Unhewn Throne, has spent eight years sequestered in a remote mountain monastery, learning the enigmatic discipline of monks devoted to the Blank God. Their rituals hold the key to an ancient power he must master before it's too late.

An ocean away, Valyn endures the brutal training of the Kettral, elite soldiers who fly into battle on gigantic black hawks. But before he can set out to save Kaden, Valyn must survive one horrific final test.

At the heart of the empire, Minister Adare, elevated to her station by one of the emperor's final acts, is determined to prove herself to her people. But Adare also believes she knows who murdered her father, and she will stop at nothing — and risk everything — to see that justice is meted out.

(updated 2017-01-15)

Other books you might like

Murder at the Kinnen HotelThe White-Luck Warrior (The Aspect-Emperor, #2)The Girl with Red Hair (The Last War Saga, #1)Fool's Quest (Fitz and the Fool, #2)Homeward

Reviews (2)

Bob Milne avatar
Written by ()
4.5
While we may only be a month into 2014, I'm going to go out on a limb and suggest that Brian Staveley may just have the debut of the year with The Emperor's Blades. This was a book that reminded me, in different ways, of my first encounters with the likes of Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss. It managed to feel fresh and original, yet familiar at the same time. I knew, before the first chapter was over, that I'd be reading this one cover to cover. Why? Well, for me, a really great ... (more)
Booknan the Bookuser avatar
Written by ()
4.0
What a debut! I was hooked form the very first paragraph, such lovely writing and exciting premise. If you're crashing hard from a Malazan high, like I am, and struggling to find something new to read that is actually good, look no further!
Online 1 member and 142 visitors
Vierran
Newest member: Roope Kiiski
Total members: 5205