The Ascent of Isaac Steward (The Dandelion Trilogy, #1)
Avg rating 5.00
5.00 stars
Give rating

Ratings (1)

The Ascent of Isaac Steward

by Mike French
Release date: 2011
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy, mainstream, magical realism

Literary surrealism at its most profound, The Ascent of Isaac Steward follows one man’s journey into his own mind as he struggles to come to terms with the trauma that has reshaped his life.

A year on from the car crash in which his wife Rebekah and son Esau were killed and his other son Jacob left in a coma, Isaac Steward has suppressed every memory of that fateful day. Yet fate seems determined to make him remember, driving Isaac deeper and deeper into himself. Slowly, dysfunction builds on delusion, as childhood memories compete with a persona he has fabricated to regress to an earlier, happier time. Violence, death and destruction result as Isaac gradually loses his grip on reality. His half-brother Ishmael tells him that he must return to the wood at his childhood home, to a tree he called The Dandelion Tree, if he is ever to be reunited with Rebekah. But as he descends further, he starts to question his own existence.

updated 2013-08-05

Other books you might like

What Is Not Yours Is Not YoursI Wonder What Human Flesh Tastes LikeThe Dream PeddlerClarkThe Sasquatch Hunter's Almanac
Online 1 member and 33 visitors
Ricardo Guerrero
Newest member: Katiana Jean
Total members: 6071