The Darkling Child - Terry Brooks

From New York Times bestselling author Terry Brooks comes a thrilling stand-alone novel in his legendary Shannara series — the perfect place for new readers to begin.

After taking up his enchanted sword against the dark sorcerer Arcannen, Paxon Leah has become the sworn protector of the Druid order. Now a critical hour is at hand, as a beloved High Druid nears the end of her reign and prepares to pass from the mortal world to the one beyond. There is little time for Paxon to mourn his friend and benefactor before duty summons him. For in a distant corner of the Four Lands, the magic of the wishsong has been detected. Paxon must accompany a Druid emissary to find its source — and ensure the formidable power is not wielded by the wrong hands.

But danger is already afoot in the village of Portlow. Gentle traveling minstrel Reyn Frosch possesses the uncanny gift, and curse, of the wishsong. And now his coveted abilities have captured the malevolent interest of none other than Arcannen — whose quest for power is exceeded only by his thirst for vengeance. The lone survivor of a brutal assault on a notorious pirate city, the sorcerer is determined to retaliate against the Federation’s elite military guard — and use the devastating power of the wishsong as his ultimate weapon. All that remains is to convince a reluctant Reyn Frosch, who is determined never to use his power again... but perhaps the sorcerer’s bewitching female apprentice can turn the minstrel’s head and twist his will.

In the clash between mortal might and black magic, it is once again up to Paxon Leah, the High Druid’s Blade, to defend the people of the Four Lands against a perfidious evil.

Rate this book

Release date: June 2, 2015
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Average rating: 7.00/10
Total ratings: 1
Updated: January 16, 2017

The Defenders of Shannara :: Series

Belongs to the series Shannara

The High Druid's Blade
The Darkling Child
The Sorcerer's Daughter