Dragon's Child

by M. K. Hume
Dragon's Child (King Arthur #1) - M. K. Hume 8.00   1

The Dark Ages: a time of chaos and bloodshed. The Roman legions have long deserted the isles and the despotic Uther Pendragon, High King of Celtic Britain, is nearing death. As the tyrant falters, his kingdom is being torn apart by the minor kings who jostle for his throne. But only one man can bring the Celts together as a nation and restore peace – King Arthur.

We meet Arthur first as a shy, subservient twelve-year-old living in the home of Lord Ector, who took in the boy when he was a babe to protect him from murderous kin. One day, three influential men arrive at Ector's villa and arrange for Arthur to be taught the skills of the warrior: blade and shield, horse and fire, pain and bravery.

When they return years later, the country is in desperate straits, for the great cities of the east are falling to the menace of the Saxon hordes.

In spite of Uther, Arthur becomes a war chieftain and wins many battles to earn him the trust of his Celtic warriors and prove that he alone can unite the tribes. But if he is to fulfill his destiny and become the High King, Arthur must find Uther's crown and sword.

The future of Britain is at stake.

Release date 2009

Details updated August 14, 2022

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

King Arthur :: Series

Series contains 3 primary works and has 3 total works.

Also known as The King Arthur Trilogy.

Dragon's Child (King Arthur #1) 8.00   1
Warrior of the West (King Arthur #2) 9.00   1
The Bloody Cup (King Arthur #3) 10.00   1

Community Reviews & Rates

Seregil of Rhiminee
Seregil of Rhiminee
3701 ratings
260 reviews
3594 posts
October 22, 2013
Gave 8 / 10 rating to this book