Hellboy: The Bones of Giants - Christopher Golden

"So, at some point, the age of gods came to an end."Or so it was believed for eons... until Thrym the Hollow, Jotunheim's deposed King of the Frost Giants, rose from death.

This time, he would not rest until his foes were eviscerated, and his fearful tyranny reigned across the human realm of Midgard. "Earth."

To combat the encroaching evil, the fates reveal a massive skeleton and iron hammer in an uncommon lightning storm on the frozen shores of Sweden. Sent to investigate are the Bureau for Paranormal Research and Defense's top operatives - the amphibian humanoid Abraham Sapien and the equally anomalous crimson demon called Hellboy.

Only Hellboy can lift the seemingly immovable object from the lifeless figure's clutches. But when a lightning strike fuses the iron weapon to his stone right hand, the occult investigator becomes joined with the mightiest weapon in all of Norse mythology. Once wielded by the legendary thunder-bearer instrumental in Thrym's downfall, the hammer subjects Hellboy to an ancient life he has never lived, and visions no other can see. Yet even that knowledge, coupled with the aid of a talking squirrel, a beautiful folklorist and dwarfish Nidavellim warriors, may not thwart the Frost King. Regardless of whether Hellboy triumphs over Thrym and the other leviathans rising to wage war, he may still be forever lost to an essence not his own... lost among The Bones of Giants.

Rate this book

Release date: 2001
Genres: fantasy, horror
Average rating: 7.00/10
Total ratings: 1
Updated: August 14, 2021

Hellboy (novels) :: Series

Belongs to the series Hellboy

Hellboy: The Lost Army
Hellboy: The Bones of Giants
Hellboy: On Earth as It Is in Hell
Hellboy: Unnatural Selection
Hellboy: The God Machine
Hellboy: The Dragon Pool
Hellboy: The All-Seeing Eye
Hellboy: Emerald Hell
Hellboy: The Fire Wolves
Hellboy: The Ice Wolves