Trial of Flowers (The City Imperishable #1) - Jay Lake 7.00   2

Trial of Flowers, by Campbell Award-winning author Jay Lake, explores the City Imperishable. Gods long since laid to rest now spread terror in the night, while invading armies race the oncoming snows of winter to besiege the walls. The City Imperishable's secret master and heir to the long-vacant throne has vanished from a locked room, as politics have turned deadly in a bid to revive the city's long-vanished empire.

The city's dwarfs, stunted from spending their childhoods in confining boxes, are restive. Bijaz the Dwarf, leader of the Sewn faction among the dwarfs, fights their persecution. Jason the Factor, friend and apprentice to the missing master, works to maintain stability in the absence of a guiding hand. Imago of Lockwood struggles to revive the office of Lord Mayor in a bid to turn the City Imperishable away from the path of destruction. These three must contend with one another as they race to resolve the threats to the city.

A decadent urban fantasy in the tradition of Perdido Street Station, City of Saints and Madmen, and The Etched City, Trial of Flowers showcases one of speculative fiction's hottest talents.

Category: Fantasy New weird

Release date 2006

Details updated August 27, 2021

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

The City Imperishable :: Series

Series contains 2 primary works and has 2 total works.

Trial of Flowers (The City Imperishable #1) 7.00   2
Madness of Flowers (The City Imperishable #2) N/A

Community Reviews & Rates

Peter
Peter
143 ratings
0 reviews
0 posts
January 5, 2013
8 / 10
Gave rating to this book
Liina
Liina
52 ratings
0 reviews
0 posts
December 30, 2008
6 / 10
Gave rating to this book