Empire of Grass (The Last King of Osten Ard #2) - Tad Williams8.30

Set in Williams’ New York Times bestselling fantasy world, the second book of The Last King of Osten Ard returns to the trials of King Simon and Queen Miriamele as threats to their kingdom loom…

The kingdoms of Osten Ard have been at peace for decades, but now, the threat of a new war grows to nightmarish proportions.

Simon and Miriamele, royal husband and wife, face danger from every side. Their allies in Hernystir have made a pact with the dreadful Queen of the Norns to allow her armies to cross into mortal lands. The ancient, powerful nation of Nabban is on the verge of bloody civil war, and the fierce nomads of the Thrithings grasslands have begun to mobilize, united by superstitious fervor and their age-old hatred of the city-dwellers. But as the countries and peoples of the High Ward bicker among themselves, battle, bloodshed, and dark magics threaten to pull civilizations to pieces. And over it all looms the mystery of the Witchwood Crown, the deadly puzzle that Simon, Miriamele, and their allies must solve if they wish to survive.

But as the kingdoms of Osten Ard are torn apart by fear and greed, a few individuals will fight for their own lives and destinies — not yet aware that the survival of everything depends on them.

Rate this book

Release date: May 6, 2019
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Expectation rating: 8.30/10
Total ratings: 10
Updated: August 18, 2021

The Last King of Osten Ard :: Series

The Last King of Osten Ard returns readers to the iconic world of Tad Williams’s New York Times-bestselling Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn trilogy, as characters both beloved and new defend the kingdom from an ancient and powerful enemy.

Belongs to the series Osten Ard

The Witchwood Crown (The Last King of Osten Ard #1)
Empire of Grass (The Last King of Osten Ard #2)8.30
The Navigator's Children (The Last King of Osten Ard #3)9.00