Rooms

by Lauren Oliver
Release date: September 17, 2014
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: horror

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane — a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways

"A chilling ghost story, and much, much more: Rooms is a magnificent gothic fugue on the themes of longing and buried secrets." — Lev Grossman, bestselling author of The Magicians Trilogy

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family — bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna — have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself — in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide — with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

updated 2014-09-17

Other books you might like

Rise of the Governor (The Walking Dead: The Governor Series, #1)HornsDoctor Sleep (The Shining, #2)Beautiful Chaos (Caster Chronicles, #3)The Outsider
Online 45 visitors
Newest member: Ayush
Total members: 6064