Golden Son (Red Rising Saga #2) - Pierce Brown 7.34   3

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR, BUZZFEED, AND BOOKLIST • With shades of The Hunger Games, Ender’s Game, and Game of Thrones, debut author Pierce Brown’s genre-defying epic Red Rising hit the ground running and wasted no time becoming a sensation. Golden Son continues the stunning saga of Darrow, a rebel forged by tragedy, battling to lead his oppressed people to freedom.

As a Red, Darrow grew up working the mines deep beneath the surface of Mars, enduring backbreaking labor while dreaming of the better future he was building for his descendants. But the Society he faithfully served was built on lies. Darrow’s kind have been betrayed and denied by their elitist masters, the Golds — and their only path to liberation is revolution. And so Darrow sacrifices himself in the name of the greater good for which Eo, his true love and inspiration, laid down her own life. He becomes a Gold, infiltrating their privileged realm so that he can destroy it from within.

A lamb among wolves in a cruel world, Darrow finds friendship, respect, and even love — but also the wrath of powerful rivals. To wage and win the war that will change humankind’s destiny, Darrow must confront the treachery arrayed against him, overcome his all-too-human desire for retribution — and strive not for violent revolt but a hopeful rebirth. Though the road ahead is fraught with danger and deceit, Darrow must choose to follow Eo’s principles of love and justice to free his people.

He must live for more.

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Release date January 2015
Details updated March 29, 2022

Red Rising Saga :: Series

Series contains 7 primary works and has 7 total works.

The Red Rising Saga is a dystopian science-fiction series written by #1 New York Times bestselling author Pierce Brown. The Red Rising Saga is the story of Darrow, a rebel forged by tragedy, battling to lead his oppressed people to freedom.

The four new books after the original trilogy takes place after the end of Morning Star which will center around the consequences of the hero's actions as well as on those folks now living and growing up in a landscape that's had its ruling order shattered.

Red Rising (Red Rising Saga #1) 7.40   5
Golden Son (Red Rising Saga #2) 7.34   3
Morning Star (Red Rising Saga #3) 8.00   1
Iron Gold (Red Rising Saga #4) 9.00   1
Dark Age (Red Rising Saga #5) 7.76   4
Light Bringer (Red Rising Saga #6) 8.80   15
Red God (Red Rising Saga #7) 8.50   2

Community Reviews & Rates

1541 ratings
0 reviews
132 posts
August 5, 2021
Gave 7 / 10 rating to this book
655 ratings
0 reviews
0 posts
March 15, 2019
Gave 6 / 10 rating to this book
774 ratings
17 reviews
34 posts
July 9, 2015
Gave 9 / 10 rating to this book