Michael Moorcock
fantasy > dark fantasy + sword and sorcery
Stormbringer (Elric Saga #6) - Michael Moorcock9.26

Abridged and revised from four novellas:

  • Dead God's Homecoming (1963)
  • Black Sword's Brothers (1963)
  • Sad Giant's Shield (1964)
  • Doomed Lord's Passing (1964)

Restored to its original length and further revised in the 1977 edition.

Sword and swordsman… but which was master?

Stormbringer, the mighty runesword, hung far away in the city's armoury. Elric, haunted albino warrior-king, had sworn never again to touch the enchanted blade. But now he needed it as never before. Evil supernatural beings had abducted his lovely wife Zarozinia. He would sacrifice the world itself to safe her. But would Stormbringer, seemingly endowed with a mind of its own, allow it?

He was fated to ride out again over spectral landscapes, with the sentient blade he both loved and hated… which had slain enemies – and claimed comrades!

Rate this book

Release date: 1965
Genres: fantasydark fantasy + sword and sorcery
Average rating: 9.26/10
Total ratings: 8
Updated: August 19, 2021

Elric Saga :: Series

In 1977 the entire Elric series was reordered and republished as a uniform six volume set. The contents of the earlier collections The Stealer of Souls and The Singing Citadel were absorbed and rearranged into The Weird of the White Wolf and The Bane of the Black Sword volumes.

Belongs to the series Elric

Elric of Melniboné (Elric Saga #1)7.38
The Sailor on the Seas of Fate (Elric Saga #2)7.90
The Weird of the White Wolf (Elric Saga #3)8.76
The Sleeping Sorceress (Elric Saga #4)9.00
The Bane of the Black Sword (Elric Saga #5)8.38
Stormbringer (Elric Saga #6)9.26