The Singing Citadel
Avg rating 4.00
4.00 stars
Give rating

Ratings (4)

The Singing Citadel

by Michael Moorcock
Release date: 1970
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasysword and sorcery, short stories

A collection of novellas.

  • The Singing Citadel (1967)
  • Master of Chaos (1964)
  • The Greater Conqueror (non-Elric novella) (1963)
  • To Rescue Tanelorn... (1962)

From memories of the future and dark premonitions of the past, Michael Moorcock's incredible mind recounts the epic tales of four fantastic heroes.

There is Elric of Melniboné, last lord of a dying race, directing the Singing Sword against mysterious riders of doom. There is the Master of Chaos and the Saga of Aubec of Malador. There is a vast design using Alexander the Great as a springboard. And then there's Tanelorn and an army of beggars storming the City of Delight, and a queen returned from the dead.

Here are tales from a twilight zone, where Reason struggles for recognition between Order and Chaos. The scopious skill of Moorcock makes it all seem true – but, then, who's to say it's not?

(updated 2016-11-01)

Other books you might like

The Wrath of Lords (Warden of Fál, #1)Elric: Duke Elric (Chronicles of the Last Emperor of Melniboné, #4)Runic Revelation (The Runic Series, #2)The Mighty (The Druid's Guise, #1)The Desert of Souls (The Chronicles of Sword and Sand, #1)
Online 36 visitors
Newest member: Bertha Miller
Total members: 5137