Corpselight

by Angela Slatter
Release date: July 11, 2017
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasyurban fantasy

'Simply put: Slatter can write! Beautifully, stylishly, accurately. She forces us to recognise the monsters that are ourselves' - Jack Dann, award-winning author.

Sequel to VIGIL, this fast-paced urban fantasy is perfect for fans of Harry Dresden and Kinsey Malhone.

Life in Brisbane is never simple for those who walk between the worlds.

Verity's all about protecting her city, but right now that's mostly running surveillance and handling the less exciting cases for the Weyrd Council - after all, it's hard to chase the bad guys through the streets of Brisbane when you're really, really pregnant.

An insurance investigation sounds pretty harmless, even if it is for 'Unusual Happenstance'. That's not usually a clause Normals use - it covers all-purpose hauntings, angry genii loci, ectoplasmic home invasion, demonic possession, that sort of thing - but Susan Beckett's claimed three times in three months. Her house keeps getting inundated with mud, but she's still insisting she doesn't need or want help... until the dry-land drownings begin.

V's pursuing a lead in Chinatown, where she is confronted by kitsune assassins. When she suddenly goes into labour, it's clear the fox spirits are not going to be helpful. Luckily, aid's on hand, although it's entirely unexpected - after all, V's mother has been dead for decades...

Corpselight is the sequel to Vigil and the second book in the Verity Fassbinder series by award-winning author Angela Slatter.

updated 2017-07-11

Other books you might like

Kitty's Greatest HitsBitter Blood (Blood and Moonlight, #3)Pas (War of the Alphas, #4)Prize of Night (Parallel Parks, #3)Finding Magic
Online 42 visitors
Newest member: Kurt Larsen
Total members: 6280