The Fortress of the Pearl

Michael Moorcock
fantasy > sword and sorcery
The Fortress of the Pearl - Michael Moorcock7.80

The runesword began to howl in unison with its master and his white face glowed with the energy of the damned...

Award-winning author Michael Moorcock is known throughout the world as a master of heroic fantasy and darksome adventure. Now at last he returns to craft an all-new saga of his most famous creation: Elric, last emperor of sorcerous Melniboné, wielder of the Black Sword, Stormbringer, and incarnation of the Eternal Champion...

Years before Elric sought and found his ultimate destiny in the battle between Order and Chaos, the albino swordsman finds himself enmeshed in the deadly intrigues of the decadent, supremely self-important city of Quarzhasaat, whose Sorcerer Emperors would use him, against his will, to obtain the legendary Pearl at the Heart of the World. To find the Pearl, and save the lives of those who depend on him, Elric must lay aside his vampiric blade and enter the very Realm of Dreams - where even one who has stolen the souls of many can easily lose his own.

Here is the novel that everyone who loves swords and sorcery has been waiting for. The Fortress of the Pearl marks an exciting, never-before-told chapter in one of the greatest sagas in modern fantasy fiction.

Rate this book

Release date: 1989
Genres: fantasysword and sorcery
Average rating: 7.80/10
Total ratings: 5
Updated: January 16, 2017

Elric :: Series

A series of stories and novels written by Michael Moorcock and featuring or pertaining to Elric of Melniboné beginning in 1961 and continuing on and off for over forty years to the present. During this period Moorcock has filled in gaps within the chronology of the original series as published in Science Fantasy magazine, as well as periodically revising and occasionally retitling both individual stories and books.

Belongs to the series The Eternal Champion Sequence
Related series Elric: The Moonbeam Roads
Related series Elric Saga
Related series Chronicles of the Last Emperor of Melniboné

The Stealer of Souls8.00
The Singing Citadel8.00
The Jade Man's Eyes
Elric at the End of Time8.50
The Fortress of the Pearl7.80
The Revenge of the Rose7.60
Tales of the White Wolf