Castle Hangnail

by Ursula Vernon
Release date: January 2015
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy, childrens

Mythopoeic Award 2016.

The quirky, illustrated middle-grade tale, from the author of the Dragonbreath series, tells the story of a wannabe wicked witch and a castle full of unforgettable minions. Perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson and Roald Dahl.

When Molly shows up on Castle Hangnail’s doorstep to fill the vacancy for a wicked witch, the minions are understandably doubtful. After all, she is just twelve years old, quite polite, and rather unintimidating. But the castle desperately needs a master or else the Board of Magic will decommission it, leaving all the minions without the home they love, and forcing Molly to go back home to the room she shares with her pink-and- sparkles-loving “good” twin sister. So when Molly assures the minions she is quite wicked indeed and begins the process of completing the tasks required by the Board of Magic, everyone remains hopeful. It turns out, though, that Molly has quite a few secrets, and when the real master arrives, the minions must choose their alliances. Do they stay loyal to the master they’ve come to love but who lied to them, or welcome the rightful one?

updated 2016-08-30

Other books you might like

Elliot and the Pixie Plot (The Underworld Chronicles, #2)Father Christmas's Fake Beard (Children's Circle Stories, #3)FirstbornWishtreeWerewolf Secrets (Alfie the Werewolf, #6)
Online 43 visitors
Newest member: Adrien Parrott
Total members: 6167