Emperor of the Eight Islands (The Tale of Shikanoko, #1)
Avg rating 3.00
3.00 stars
Give rating

Ratings (1)

Emperor of the Eight Islands

by Lian Hearn
Release date: April 24, 2016
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy, history

An epic four-volume adventure in mythical, medieval Japan: a world of warriors and assassins, demons and spirits

In the opening pages of the action-packed Book One of Lian Hearn's epic Tale of Shikanoko series - all of which will be published in 2016 - a future lord is dispossessed of his birthright by a scheming uncle, a mountain sorcerer imbues a mask with the spirit of a great stag for a lost young man, a stubborn father forces his son to give up his wife to his older brother, and a powerful priest meddles in the succession to the Lotus Throne, the child who is the rightful heir to the emperor barely escaping the capital in the arms of his sister. And that is just the beginning.

As destiny weaves its rich tapestry, a compelling drama plays out against a background of wild forests, elegant castles, hidden temples, and savage battlefields. This is the medieval Japan of Lian Hearn's imagination, where animal spirits clash with warriors and children navigate a landscape as serene as it is deadly.

updated 2017-01-18

Other books you might like

The Ice King (Twilight of the Celts, #3)Flight of Magpies (A Charm of Magpies, #3)The Unfailing Light (The Katerina Trilogy, #2)The Sea Queen (The Golden Wolf Saga, #2)The Half-Drowned King (The Golden Wolf Saga, #1)
Online 39 visitors
Newest member: Khya
Total members: 6440