Beacon 23: The Complete Novel
Avg rating 4.50
4.50 stars
Give rating

Ratings (1)

Beacon 23: The Complete Novel

by Hugh Howey
Release date: August 2015
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, collection

This work contains the five Beacon 23 stories, originally released in serialized form.

For centuries, men and women have manned lighthouses to ensure the safe passage of ships. It is a lonely job, and a thankless one for the most part. Until something goes wrong. Until a ship is in distress.

In the 23rd century, this job has moved into outer space. A network of beacons allows ships to travel across the Milky Way at many times the speed of light. These beacons are built to be robust. They never break down. They never fail.

At least, they aren't supposed to.

(updated 2017-01-16)

Other books you might like

SummerlandThe Maze Runner (The Maze Runner Series, #1)SandThe 5th Wave (The 5th Wave, #1)Ambassador of the Shadows (Valerian and Laureline, #6)

Reviews (1)

Elke avatar
Written by ()

Those were five cracking good stories, this time a mixture of philosophy, psychology and fiction.
The stories follow one of the astronauts which are spread over the galaxy to man and maintain beacons. We get to know a person who is extremely lonely and the ways how a human mind can work in this situation.
I found those stories highly instructive and fascinating, sometimes funny, sometimes sad - even disturbing. I'm really glad that I've found those books and would like to recommend it to you all.

Online 1 member and 53 visitors
Newest member: Kristina Grinton
Total members: 5186