The Complete Short Fiction of Greg Bear, Volume 3: Beyond the Farthest Suns

by Greg Bear
Release date: April 2016
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, short stories

7 remarkable stories, newly revised for this collection, showcase the award-winning talents of one of the 21st century s finest writers of speculative fiction Whether penning science fiction ("Moving Mars," "Queen of Angels," "War Dogs"), alternate history (the Mongoliad series with Neal Stephenson), or fantasy ("Sleepside," "The Infinity Concerto"), Greg Bear tells stories that engage the reader s intellect while gripping the imagination. His short fiction is no exception.

"Beyond the Farthest Suns" takes readers to the far end of the universe and the borders of scientific understanding. The volume includes: The Way of All Ghosts, set in the bestselling universe of "Eon" and "Eternity"; The Venging, which takes a group of desperate fugitives fleeing alien dominance down into the awesome gateway of a black hole; The Fall of the House of Escher, in which a world-famous illusionist is brought back from the dead for a terrifying command performance; Hardfought, the critically acclaimed Nebula Award winning story showcasing a far future in which a legendary female pilot and her alien captor are forced into a tapestry of echoing lives where they struggle to communicate and find the deepest secrets of their history. These works, along with 3 additional entries, stunningly illustrate how Bear interweaves the rationality of science with remarkable characters whose thoughts and emotions reflect our own.

(updated 2016-04-24)

Other books you might like

The Infinite Sea (The 5th Wave, #2)Poseidon's Wake (Poseidon's Children, #3)Reached (Matched Trilogy, #3)The Forever Man (W.A.R.P., #3)Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)
Online 1 member and 34 visitors
Newest member: vanda shams
Total members: 5440