The Dark Missions of Edgar Brim

by Shane Peacock
Release date: May 1, 2016
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: horror, young adult

The first in a gripping new gothic trilogy from an acclaimed author, for fans of Ken Oppel’s This Dark Endeavor and Such Wicked Intent and HBO’s Penny Dreadful series.

Edgar Brim is a sensitive orphan who, exposed to horror stories from his father as a young child, is afraid of almost everything and suffers from nightly terrors. His stern new guardian, Mr. Thorne, sends the boy to a gloomy school in Scotland where his dark demons only seem to worsen and he is bullied and ridiculed for his fears. But years later, when sixteen-year-old Edgar finds a journal belonging to his novelist father, he becomes determined to confront his nightmares and the bullies who taunt him. After the horrific death of a schoolmate, Edgar becomes involved with an eccentric society at the urging of a mysterious professor who believes that monsters from famous works of literature are real and whose mandate is to find and destroy these creatures. With the aid of a rag-tag crew of friends, the fear-addled teen sets about on his dark mission, one that begins in the cemetery on the bleak Scottish moors and ends in a spine-chilling climax on the stage of the Royal Lyceum Theatre in London with Henry Irving, the infamous and magnetic actor, and his manager, Bram Stoker, the author of the most frightening and sensational novel of the day, Dracula. Can Edgar Brim truly face his terror and conquer his fears?

(updated 2016-05-01)

Other books you might like

The Enemy (The Enemy, #1)The NightmarysUnleashed (Bloody Mary, #2)The Late BusThere's Someone Inside Your House
Online 27 visitors
Newest member: Ailm
Total members: 5169