Travel Light
Avg rating 3.00
3.00 stars
Give rating
star1
star2
star3
star4
star5
star6
star7
star8
star9
star10

Ratings (1)
Statistics

Travel Light

by Naomi Mitchison
Release date: 1952
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy

"Travel Light is the story of Halla, a girl born to a king but cast out onto the hills to die. She lives among bears; she lives among dragons. But the time of dragons is passing, and Odin All-Father offers Halla a choice: Will she stay dragonish and hoard wealth and possessions, or will she travel light?" — Amal El-Mohtar, NPR, You Must Read This

From the dark ages to modern times, from the dragons of medieval forests to Constantinople, this is a fantastic and philosophical fairy-tale journey that will appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Diana Wynne Jones, and T. H. White’s The Sword in the Stone.

"No one knows better how to spin a fairy tale than Naomi Mitchison.” — The Observer

"Read it now." — Ursula K. Le Guin

"You will love this book." — Holly Black

"The enchantments of Travel Light contain more truth, more straight talking, a grittier, harder-edged view of the world than any of the mundane descriptions of daily life you will find in ... science fiction stories." — Paul Kincaid, SF Site

"A gem of a book." — Strange Horizons

"Every page is full of magic and wonder... well worth seeking out." — Rambles

"Combines the best of Rowling and Pullman, being full of magic and fantasy with the hard edge of reality sharp at its edges." — The New Review/LauraHird.com

updated 2016-04-03

Other books you might like

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (Fairyland, #1)Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original ScreenplayThe Ship of the Dead (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, #3)Charon's Claw (The Neverwinter Saga, #3)The White Road (Nightrunner, #5)
Online 36 visitors
Newest member: Hymie Opondo
Total members: 5708