Unplugged

by Donna Freitas
Release date: June 2016
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, young adult

The first book in a provocative new series from acclaimed author Donna Freitas — Feed for a new generation.

Humanity is split into the App World and the Real World — an extravagant virtual world for the wealthy and a dying physical world for the poor. Years ago, Skylar Cruz’s family sent her to the App World for a chance at a better life.

Now Skye is a nobody, a virtual sixteen-year-old girl without any glamorous effects or expensive downloads to make her stand out in the App World. Yet none of that matters to Skye. All she wants is a chance to unplug and see her mother and sister again.

But when the borders between worlds suddenly close, Skye loses that chance. Desperate to reach her family, Skye risks everything to get back to the physical world. Once she arrives, however, she discovers a much larger, darker reality than the one she remembers.

In the tradition of M. T. Anderson’s Feed and Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies, Unplugged kicks off a thrilling and timely sci-fi series for teens from an award-winning writer.

(updated 2017-01-17)

Other books you might like

The Last Gatekeeper (The Last Gatekeeper, #1)Rise (Eve, #3)Sky Key (Endgame, #2)Shutdown (Glitch, #3)The Girl Who Dared to Lead (The Girl Who Dared to Think, #5)
Online 34 visitors
Newest member: Alison Bull
Total members: 5218