Fork-Tongue Charmers

by Paul Durham
Release date: March 2015
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy, young adult

The Luck Uglies face their greatest enemies in this thrilling sequel to the critically acclaimed first book in the series, hailed by Kirkus in a starred review as a sparkling must-read ! The Luck Uglies is a perfect match for fans of Chris Colfer's Land of Stories books and Joseph Delaney's Last Apprentice series. This second installment ratchets up the humor, charm, and adventure, taking the series to brand-new heights!

Rye O Chanter was shocked to discover that her father was the leader of the notorious band of outlaws known as the Luck Uglies. Now she too has been declared a criminal in her own village, and she must flee to the strange and remote Isle of Pest while her father faces off against the Luck Uglies bitter rivals, the Fork-Tongue-Charmers, on the mainland.

But all bets are off when the battle moves to the shores of Pest. To defeat the Fork-Tongue Charmers, Rye must defy a deranged earl, survive a test meant to judge the grit of the fiercest men, and lead the charge in defending the island against a strangely familiar enemy, which means uncovering some long-buried family secrets .

The first Luck Uglies book was named an ALA Notable Children s Book as well as a New York Public Library Title for Reading and Sharing, and it won the Cybil Award for Middle Grade Speculative Fiction.

updated 2016-07-26

Other books you might like

Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles, #2)The Infinite (Gates of Thread and Stone, #2)Harley Merlin and the Mortal Pact (Harley Merlin, #9)Shadow of the War Machine (The Secret Order, #3)Jonah (The Styclar Saga, #3)
Online 45 visitors
Newest member: Edna Maria Bastos
Total members: 5705