Harpist in the Wind (Riddle-Master #3) - Patricia A. McKillip9.00

Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel 1980. World Fantasy Award nominee 1980, Hugo Award nominee 1980, British Fantasy Award nominee 1980.


Though Morgon the Riddle-Master was reunited with his beloved Raederle, his purpose in life and the reason for the stars on his forehead remained a mystery. All around him, the realm shook with war and disaster as mysterious shape-changers battled against mankind. Without the missing High One, Morgon must assume responsibility for all his world.

After leading an army of the dead to protect his island of Hed, he and Raederle set out for Lungold, where the wizards were assembling against the evil Ghisteslwchlohm. And behind them came Deth, the crippled harpist, Morgon's friend and betrayer.

But Lungold was only the beginning of the quest that would lead him to the truth of ancient struggle and the fate of the High One, until at last he could solve all mysteries and know his own awesome destiny!

Rate this book

Release date: 1979
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Tags: locus award
Average rating: 9.00/10
Total ratings: 8
Updated: August 25, 2016

Riddle-Master :: Series

The series doesn\'t have an official name. The trilogy and its omnibus editions have been called as The Quest of the Riddle-Master, The Riddle-Master Trilogy, Riddle-Master: The Complete Trilogy (1999) and The Riddle-Master\'s Game (2001).

The Riddle-Master of Hed (Riddle-Master #1)7.64
Heir of Sea and Fire (Riddle-Master #2)7.80
Harpist in the Wind (Riddle-Master #3)9.00