Riddle-Master - Patricia A. McKillip9.00

Omnibus editions:

Riddle of Stars (1979)
The Chronicles of Morgon, Prince of Hed (UK 1981)
Riddle-Master: The Complete Trilogy (1999, with new foreword)
The Riddle-Master's Game (Fantasy Masterworks, 2001, with foreword of 1999 edition)

”It is a rare thing that Patricia McKillip has done, to write a fantasy trilogy good enough to be compared to Tolkien...” – A Reader's Guide to Fantasy

For over twenty years, World Fantasy Award winner Patricia A. McKillip has captured the hearts and imaginations of thousands of readers. Now at last her renowned Riddle-Master trilogy – The Riddle-Master of Hed, Heir of Sea and Fire, and Harpist in the Wind – long out of print, is collected in one volume.

In a land where wizards have long since vanished, Morgon, Prince of Hed, is confronted with a challenge much different from that faced by Hed's land-bound rulers before him. Although he wants only to rule and work the land of his birth, Morgon must search out a very different destiny – given to him by the stars imprinted on his forehead since he was born.

He must wander strange, foreign lands full of untamed magic in the form of riddling wraiths, mysterious harpists, a lost crown, a magical sword, and an all-knowing High One who rules over all. But in his quest for a new life for himself and his people, he must face great dangers – not only to himself, but to his promised bride, his land, and his very way of life...

Rate this book

Release date: 1979
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy, collection
Average rating: 9.00/10
Total ratings: 8
Updated: August 14, 2021

Riddle-Master :: Series

The series doesn\'t have an official name. The trilogy and its omnibus editions have been called as The Quest of the Riddle-Master, The Riddle-Master Trilogy, Riddle-Master: The Complete Trilogy (1999) and The Riddle-Master\'s Game (2001).
The Riddle-Master of Hed (Riddle-Master #1)7.64
Heir of Sea and Fire (Riddle-Master #2)7.80
Harpist in the Wind (Riddle-Master #3)9.00