Dreaming in the Dark

Jack Dann
fantasy, anthology
Dreaming in the Dark - Jack Dann

Edited by Jack Dann. Cover art by Greg Bridges.

A celebration of Australia’s current Golden Age of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and magical realism. Jack Dann — the multi-award-winning author and co-editor of the classic Dreaming Down-Under, the anthology that “has been credited with putting Australian writing on the international map” and the first Australian book to win a World Fantasy Award — has collected a wonderfully eclectic range of short fiction that showcases what our best fantasists are doing right now at this genre-bending moment in time.


  • Welcome to the Golden Age: An Introduction of Sorts — Jack Dann
  • Sing, My Murdered Darlings — Sean Williams
  • Falling Angel — Paul Brandon
  • Martian Triptych — James Bradley
  • Northerner’s Farewell — Rjurik Davidson
  • Midnight In The Graffiti Tunnel — Terry Dowling
  • A Right Pretty Mate — Lisa L. Hannett
  • Eromon No More — Jason Nahrung
  • Luv Stor y— Kim Westwood
  • The Luminarium Tower — Sean McMullen
  • Neither Time Nor Tears — Angela Slatter
  • His Shining Day — Richard Harland
  • The Liquid Palace — Adam Browne
  • Heat Treatment — Venero Armanno
  • Snowflakes All the Way Down — Rosaleen Love
  • Served Cold — Alan Baxter
  • The Dog Who’d Been Dead — Anna Tambour
  • Fade To Grey — Janeen Webb
  • All Those Superpowers and What Are They Good For? — Garth Nix
  • Burnt Sugar — Kirstyn McDermott
  • In Hornhead Wood — Kim Wilkins
  • Moonshine — Simon Brown
Rate this book

Release date: November 2016
Genres: fantasy, anthology
Updated: August 25, 2021