Black Bird of the Gallows

by Meg Kassel
Release date: September 4, 2017
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy, young adult

A dark psychological romance perfect for fans of Holly Black or Maggie Stiefvater, whose yet to be published sequel won the Golden Heart ® for Best Young Adult Romance.

A simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear, the morgues will soon be full. Harbingers settle in places where tragedy is about to strike, then feed on the energy of the dying. Then, they leave. Off to the next doomed place. No one wants a family of harbingers of death as neighbors, but that’s exactly what seventeen-year-old Angie Dovage gets when Reece Fernandez moves in next door.

Angie knows the mysterious boy is more than he appears, but can’t imagine that his presence heralds a massive tragedy that will soon devastate the region. She has more to worry about than Reece’s inevitable departure, because where harbingers of death go, the Beekeepers follow. Their sting turns sane people crazy, kind people into killers. Where Beekeepers go, people die. Quite horribly, in fact. Their love of chaos makes a disaster that much harder to survive, and they are stinging at will, causing a sudden epidemic of violence in her quiet mining town.

Angie wants to protect everyone she cares about, but stopping the Beekeepers involves a choice that will claim her life or Reece’s soul. She’s about to learn the price of both.

updated 2017-10-08

Other books you might like

The Burning Shadow (Gods and Warriors, #2)Traps and Specters (The Secret Zoo, #4)Demon Games (Changeling, #4)Behemoth (Leviathan Trilogy, #2)The Viking's Apprentice (The Viking's Apprentice, #1)
Online 39 visitors
Newest member: Jerry Cohen
Total members: 5803